Northern Ireland vs Republic of Ireland

The study of British and Irish roads - their construction, numbering, history, mapping, past and future official roads proposals and general roads musings.

There is a separate forum for Street Furniture (traffic lights, street lights, road signs etc).

Registered users get access to other forums including discussions about other forms of transport, driving, fantasy roads and wishlists, and roads quizzes.

Moderator: Site Management Team

MDTyKe

Northern Ireland vs Republic of Ireland

Post by MDTyKe »

Hey guys,

Newbie here, traveling reguarly in both NI and ROI. I have a few questions, or comments, which I may as well post.

1) The new cross-border road A1/N1 - what will its likely speed limits be?

2) Is there going to be a toll on the road?

3) Is there any special 'border' designation, such as a peace bridge or monument planned?

I often wonder what tourists think when they cross the narrow road that we have at the moment. I'd love to see some kind of monument over the road that borders the two countries; one of those arty wavy-hand ones or something to signal peace.

At the moment there's a big sign saying 'Welcome to Louth', and a poky *tiny* sign saying 'Welcome to Newry & Mourne' on the Northern side. However, the Northern one bugs me because BEFORE the 'Welcome to..' sign you have a large 'Speed Camera - Average Speed' sign followed by intrusive yellow cameras. Then, once they read your plate, they greet you with a small sign, obstructed by branches.

Anyway, thanks!

Matt
murphaph

Re: Northern Ireland vs Republic of Ireland

Post by murphaph »

MDTyKe wrote:Hey guys
Hey there Matt, good to have yet another contributor from the island!
MDTyKe wrote:1) The new cross-border road A1/N1 - what will its likely speed limits be?

Bound to be 70mph in NI and likely to be 120km/h in the south.
MDTyKe wrote:2) Is there going to be a toll on the road?
No.