Sabristi-created road signs

Discussion about street lighting, road signs, traffic signals - and all other street furniture - goes here.

Moderator: Site Management Team

Patrick Harper

Sabristi-created road signs

Post by Patrick Harper »

I'm surprised such a thread does not seem to exist and I can't think of a good reason not to create one, so here goes...

When I was an apprentice at HCC I was given an exercise (although my work has a chance of being the final product) to design new signs for the A1170/Essex Road roundabout (and the approaches) in Hoddesdon, Hertfordshire. This is needed because as part of the New River Bridge project, the Essex Road connection will move from the north-side to the east-side of the roundabout and the old Essex Road will become a no-through route for vehicles.

HCC had a rather buggy old version of the KeySIGN AutoCAD addon, compared to some of my colleagues from Opus (now WSP) who I shared an office with, but I learnt my way around it and eventually arrived at a decent selection. None of these are to scale.
Core Sign Collage_480.png
All the lane gain/lane merge signs are related to the Burford Street connection to the A1170. The lane from this road will be hatched out approaching the roundabout due to insufficient space at north side of the roundabout.

A couple of map signs feature rather sub-standard arrays of destinations for A10(S) and A10(N). In both cases this was used to save space, either vertically or horizontally (the former for vfm, the latter due to insufficient verge space).

In the next few posts I'll cover some other groups of my sign designs.
nowster
Treasurer

Re: Sabristi-created road signs

Post by nowster »

I'd have put a thin space (same as follows the A) between the number and the N or S in the compromise signs to aid comprehension.
Patrick Harper

Post by Patrick Harper »