Symbol found on old Irish road signs

Discussion about street lighting, road signs, traffic signals - and all other street furniture - goes here.

Moderator: Site Management Team

Foamcutter

Symbol found on old Irish road signs

Post by Foamcutter »

Hi all, I'm new to this forum and found it via your Wiki on T and L roads in Ireland
I've been replicating old Irish fingerpost signs for friends... you have to do something during a Covid lockdown :shock:
I was curious to find out what the symbol is at the bottom point of the triangle (beneath the T in the Dublin sign)?

Any info or links/suggestions would be appreciated. TIA
Attachments
Dublin Blackrock fingerpost signs small1.jpg
A42_Sparks

Re: Symbol found on old Irish road signs

Post by A42_Sparks »

It was the old logo of Bord Failte, the Irish tourism development authority. They were responsible for signage at one point.
Steven
SABRE Maps Coordinator

Post by Steven »

Foamcutter wrote: Sun Mar 07, 2021 23:24 Hi all, I'm new to this forum and found it via your Wiki on T and L roads in Ireland
If you're interested in the old T and L road system, in addition to the information on the SABRE Wiki, we also have a number of Irish maps showing the T and L roads on SABRE Maps - a good starting point would be the full OSI Half Inch map layer from circa 1969 showing the whole of the Republic (and most of the North too).
Steven
Motorway Historian

Founder Member, SABRE ex-Presidents' Corner

Add your roads knowledge to the SABRE Wiki today!
Have you browsed SABRE Maps recently? Try getting involved!

Foamcutter

Post by Foamcutter »

Thanks for the prompt info.

It's quite amazing that Bord Failte had control over road signage considering their current roll... how times have changed. I interpreted the symbol be some kind of datum mark. Thanks A42 :thumbsup: