UK to Switzerland

Going on holiday? Just returned with pictures or news? Found an interesting website? Post everything international in here.

Moderator: Site Management Team

AutomaticBeloved

UK to Switzerland

Post by AutomaticBeloved »

I'm currently planning a Swiss road trip and thought SABRE might be a good place for feedback and advice.

My plan is to base around Interlaken for a week or so. I was planning to get a Regional Pass for 4-5 days railgeeking and have a couple days taking the car over the local passes (The Grimsel/Furka/Susten circuit for example).

Outbound Route

I'm going to break my journey each way with an overnight stop at/near Reims, I've done the crazy non stop overnight thing before and never again. I was thinking of using N-Roads from Reims via Le Locle rather then Autoroute all the way (return will be Autoroute via Basel)

As this is my first time planning a scenic trip, is there any recommendations that you lovely folks can offer with regards to scenery or things to look out for.

roadtester

Re: UK to Switzerland

Post by roadtester »

When I go to Geneva, I go via Luxembourg. Routing this way avoids all the tolled autoroutes and lets you fill up with (very) cheaply in Lux.

Probably works for most Swiss destinations in one form or another.

Although it is a bit further!
Electrophorus Electricus

Check out #davidsdailycar on Mastodon
Octaviadriver

Post by Octaviadriver »

I made a very similar trip (apart from starting in the Midlands) in 1971, though I think any information on that will be a little bit out of date now!