SABRE LogoPhoto of the Month
Home - Forums - Photo Gallery - Wiki - Maps - Society - Websites - Links - Help Log in | Register
About Us
The Sabristi
The Management

As a constituted Society, SABRE has a number of Elected Officers - collectively termed the management - who look after the Society and its website. They are elected in our annual elections in Spring each year. On this page, you can find out more about these people, what they do for you, and how you can get in touch with them.

Previous Management teams, going right back to 2001 are listed on a separate page.


The President serves as a neutral figure, mainly to administer SABRE's elections and other votes and, if needed, adjudicate in disputes between members. Since the President runs elections, he or she cannot take part in them, and therefore each election must see a new President elected. The full list of the President's duties is in the Constitution.

Alex Cameron (FosseWay)

Alex's interest in roads is mainly historical. As a child, he used to scrutinise old road atlases to see how the road network developed over time. This led first to a map-buying habit and then, in 2006, to the discovery of SABRE. Suddenly many of his apparently unanswerable questions had answers! Before moving to Sweden in 2011, he lived variously in zones 4, 5 and 6.

Alex's official e-mail address is

Site Manager

The Site Manager is responsible for the day to day running of the SABRE website and, in particular, the discussion forums. This includes moderating the boards, welcoming new members and promoting the discussion group. These tasks and others are shared with the Assistant Site Managers, though the Site Manager takes greater responsibility for them. The full list of the Site Manager's duties is in the Constitution.

You can contact the Site Management Team using the Contact form.

Matthew Cockburn (exiled)

Matthew first discovered SABRE in 2005/6 and joined in January 2007. His interest is from a non professional side and is driven in large part by a passion for history. When not on SABRE or using the roads, his interests are railways and historic buildings.

Assistant Site Managers

The Assistant Site Managers have the same responsibilities as the Site Manager (above) - usually the Site Management Team decides how best to share out the responsibilities, and this differs from year to year. The full list of the Assistant Site Manager's duties is in the Constitution.

You can contact the Site Management Team using the Contact form

Owen Rudge (orudge)

Owen joined SABRE in 2007, and has previously served as Assistant Site Manager in 2012-2013, plus as an appointed developer since 2011. He also runs a site and forum related to the game "Transport Tycoon", and has done so since 2000.

Scott Spencer (ScottB5411)

Scott has been a member of Sabre since 2010, has served on the committee since 2011 (bar a short spell), is a past Secretary, and has been one of the site's Social Media Administrators since the post's inception. He is one of our members who thought "he was the only one" in his road obsession until he discovered the CBRD site (now in 2008 which led him to the Sabre website. In 2012, Scott and his American wife (who had moved to the UK) moved across the pond to the American mid-west and currently resides in St. Louis, Missouri. Alongside his interest in all things road, Scott is an avid train enthusiast and likes Formula 1 and cricket. This is his first stint as an elected member of the Sabre Site Management Team.


The Treasurer, as you would expect, looks after SABRE's finances. Principally this involves collecting voluntary donations from members, administering the bank account and making sure costs for domain names and web hosting are paid.

Paul Martin (nowster)

Paul has been a member of SABRE since August 2004, and became Treasurer in 2009. He is also SABRE's IT manager, having day-to-day responsibility for the upkeep of the SABRE server.

Paul's official e-mail address is

Elected Committee Members

In addition to the Elected Officers, at the annual elections in Spring each year, three members of SABRE are elected to serve on the SABRE Committee. Their role is to oversee the Elected Officers, and to act as a point of reference and guidance to the Elected and Appointed Officers.

Richard Macer-Wright (RichardA35)

Richard has been a member of SABRE since 2002, and has served a previous term on the Committee. He has a day job of building new roads which he has been doing for far longer than he can remember.

John Randall (Johnathan404)

John has been on the Committee for several years, helping steer SABRE through a number of changes. Having travelled across the country, he insists he is not trying to visit every service station - despite evidence to the contrary.

Glen Wallace (Glen)

Appointed Officers

Each year the President appoints a number of volunteers to assist with various parts of SABRE. These posts can change annually with the needs of the Society.

Secretary (for Voting Membership enquiries)

Serena Torz (Sabrista)

Web Development and Server Management

Paul Martin (nowster)
Andy Boal (AndyB)
Ritchie Swann (Ritchie333)
Sam Holloway (Sam)

Development Volunteers

Owen Rudge (orudge)
Tim (ForestChav)
Rob Baker (Frediculous_biggs)

Social Media Caretakers

Glen Wallace (Glen)
Scott Spencer (ScottB5411)
Johnathan Randall (Jonathan404)

SABRE Wiki Caretakers

Chris (c2R)
FosseWay (FosseWay)
Kevin Flynn (Viator)
rileyrob (rileyrob)

SABRE Maps caretaker

Steven Jukes (Steven)

Media and Public Relations Officer

Bryn Buck (Bryn666)

Photo of the Month Co-ordinators

Tim (ForestChav)

Awayday and Roadtrip coordinators

David Wilkins (roadtester)
Owain Wright (Owain)
Jen Campbell (Jeni)


The current list of committee members may be viewed here. Committee is made up of the Elected Officers, Elected Committee Members, Appointed Officers, and the previous year's Elected Officers who are currently:

Steven Jukes (Steven)
Owain Wright (Owain)


 SABRE - The Society for All British and Irish Road Enthusiasts
Home - Forums - Photo Gallery - Wiki - Maps - Society - Websites - Links - Help