File:Three bridges at Coulsdon (C) Marathon - Geograph - 3045302.jpg

From Roader's Digest: The SABRE Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Three_bridges_at_Coulsdon_(C)_Marathon_-_Geograph_-_3045302.jpg(640 × 480 pixels, file size: 98 KB, MIME type: image/jpeg)

Y topleft.gifY topright.gif
Description:Three bridges at Coulsdon (C) Marathon
This is the view along Marlpit Lane. The new bridge right above is the Cousdon Relief Road, opened in 2006 as part of the A23. The brick bridge belongs to the so-called Quarry Line, built by the London, Brighton & South Coast Railway as an avoiding line between Coulsdon North and Earlswood and which is still used by fast trains avoiding Redhill. It was opened on 8th November 1899. The furthest bridge, which can just be glimpsed in the distance above the car, is on the original Brighton Line, opened in two stages in 1841.
Location:51.316551, -0.137571
Road:B276, A23
Date:18 07 2012
Photographer:Marathon and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence
Source:Geograph

Map

Y btmleft.gifY btmright.gif

Galleries  | B276 | A23

File history

Click on a date/time to view the file as it appeared at that time.

Date/TimeThumbnailDimensionsUserComment
current22:34, 14 January 2015Thumbnail for version as of 22:34, 14 January 2015640 × 480 (98 KB)Vlad (talk | contribs)'''Three bridges at Coulsdon (C) Marathon '''<br/>This is the view along Marlpit Lane. The new bridge right above is the Cousdon Relief Road, opened in 2006 as part of the A23. The brick bridge belongs to the so-called Quarry Line, built by the London,...

The following 4 pages link to this file:

SABRE - The Society for All British and Irish Road Enthusiasts
Home - Discuss - Digest - Discover - Help