Star.pngStar.pngStar grey.pngStar grey.pngStar grey.png

Mudda Murphy's Bridge

From Roader's Digest: The SABRE Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Mudda Murphy's Bridge
Droichead Mhic Mhurchaidh
Location Map ( geo)
Morning rush hour on Sugar Island Bridge - Geograph - 3382289.jpg
Morning rush hour from the cenotaph on the western bank
Cameraicon.png View gallery (1)
Location
Newry
County
Armagh • Down
Highway Authority
DfI Roads
Additional Information
Bridge Type:  Arch Bridge
On road(s)
A27
Crossings related to the A27 (Northern Ireland)

Mudda Murphy's Bridge (Droichead Mhic Mhurchaidh) is a four arch stone bridge that carries the A27 across the Newry River.

The name of the bridge is marked on a plaque on the road side of the southern bridge wall.

Bradshaw’s General Directory of Newry (and other towns) of 1820 gives the following information about the name: A large piece of timber was placed over the ford at Sugar Island for the accommodation of foot passengers, by a person named Murphy. In consequence of this, this stone bridge afterwards built here over the river bore the name of Mudda Murphy’s Bridge – or the Bridge of Murphy‘s Stick.

It is a good bridge of five arches. Formerly there were ten arches; but five of them being of no use for venting of water, it was thought unnecessary to retain them.’[1]


References



Mudda Murphy's Bridge
Related Pictures
View gallery (1)
Morning rush hour on Sugar Island Bridge - Geograph - 3382289.jpg


SABRE - The Society for All British and Irish Road Enthusiasts
Discuss - Digest - Discover - Help