Star.pngStar.pngStar grey.pngStar grey.pngStar grey.png

Bridge of Dee (Galloway)

From Roader's Digest: The SABRE Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Bridge of Dee
Location Map ( geo)
Cameraicon.png No pictures uploaded (Upload?)
From:  Castle Douglas
To:  Bridge of Dee
Highway Authority
Dumfries and Galloway
Opening Date
Additional Information
Bridge Type:  Arch Bridge

The Bridge of Dee, often called the Old Bridge of Dee spans the River Dee in the village of Bridge of Dee. The bridge was opened in 1740, and later used by Major Caulfeild when he was routing the Military Road from Carlisle to Portpatrick. The bridge has four equal stone arches across the river, carrying a level but narrow roadway which is now limited to a 5 tonnes. The bridge sits on a substantial dogleg on the old military road, and as such it was replaced as long ago as 1825 by Threave Bridge, which still carries the A75 today.

Bridge of Dee (Galloway)
Crossings of the Galloway River Dee, and Tributaries
Water of Deugh, Water of Ken and River DeeGreen Well of Scotland Bridge • Liggat Bridge • Smittons Bridge • High Bridge of Ken • Knowehead Bridge • Allangibbon Bridge • Ken Bridge • Glenlochar Bridge • Bridge of Dee (Galloway) • Threave Bridge • Tongland Bridge • Kirkcudbright Bridge
River TarffHigh Bridge of Tarff  • Low Bridge of Tarff

SABRE - The Society for All British and Irish Road Enthusiasts
Discuss - Digest - Discover - Help