|Location Map ( geo)|
|To:||Tummel Bridge (NN762591)|
|Distance:||10.6 miles (17.1 km)|
|Meets:||A9, A924, B8079, B846|
|Route outline (key)|
The B8019 is a rather odd road. As explained below, it was proposed to re-route the B846 along this road in the 1930s, but in the event the road was given a new number. Looking at a map, it really should be part of the B846, with that roads southern arm to Aberfeldy numbered as part of the B847, but that is not the case, so we have a B8019 to describe!
Pitlochry - Tummel Bridge
The road starts at the northern end of the Pitlochry bypass, taking over from the A924 on the former A9 route, and heading north. The road follows the railway and new A9 route, short-cutting two large meanders of the Rivers Tummel and Garry, to reach the junction with the B8079. This junction is a TOTSO, where the B8019 turns west and crosses the railway line and the River Garry on the Garry Bridge, a rather spectacular structure built in 1968. After the bridge a small car park provides access to the riverside walks, partially using the old road alignment to the north. This road crossed the Garry where the modern footbridge stands, climbing up to meet the B8079 nearly half a mile further north.
After a little exploration, we set off properly along the road, but don't be in a hurry. The road is nominally S2, but is only very occasionally provided with a centre line, and there are a few too many bends where the carriageway width seems to be lacking. We twist and turn, rise and fall, wishing the needle could reach 40, but always having to press the brakes before its achieved until finally a sharp, near hairpin at the entrance to Glen Fincastle is reached. After this, the road crosses to the shores of Loch Tummel and slowly improves.
The first major tourist attraction reached on this road is the 'Queen's View', allegedly one of Queen Victoria's favourite views. This connection makes the Forestry Commission think they can get away with a pay and display car park for a ten minute experience. A little further down the road a free car park provides forest walks, surely catching similar glimpses of the loch below.
The road itself is now much straighter and, with 50mph regularly possible, progress becomes more rapid. At length a village named Strath Tummel on the signs, but apparently called Tressait on maps, is passed through, and then the road drops back down to the loch shore for a mile or two before reaching Tummel Bridge at the head of the loch. Here a large power station is passed at the entrance to the village, followed by a number of caravan parks.
The road finally comes to an end on the B846 adjacent to the Tummel Bridge itself. It is an interesting and enjoyable road, with plenty of stunning scenery to be seen, providing you are happy to leave the car and take a wander on the plentiful forest paths available.
Originally the section from Pitlochry to the old Bridge of Garry was the A9 whilst the rest of the road was unclassified; this gained Class II status by 1932.
The draft proposals for the 1935 renumberings would have seen the B8019 wiped out, with the B846 re-routed along it to the A9, the existing route of the B846 into Aberfeldy would then have been renumbered as an extended B847. While this sensible suggestion is marked as 'Agreed', it was never carried through.