|Distance:||8.9 miles (14.3 km)|
|Meets:||unclassified, B9065, unclassified|
|Route outline (key)|
The B9064 runs around three sides of the Rousay Island Loop road, although it is odd that the classification didn't extend to connect the two ends. There is no discernible change in quality, or signage to mark the change - and both ends are in seemingly arbitrary places, apparently unchanged since 1922. The road is single-track throughout and meets the B9065, a short spur to the Rousay Ferry, roughly halfway along the road.
We shall therefore start in the middle! The southern leg of the road, from the B9065 junction westwards, is of great historic importance. In quick succession, we pass the chambered cairns of Taversoe Tuick, Blackhammer and Know of Yarso. There are also two ruined brochs on the shore, and numerous other archaeological sites lying in the long grass of the hillsides. The B9064 ends at Westness: a farm and maybe half a dozen houses.
Another mile up the now-unclassified road is Rousay's greatest treasure, Mid Howe: a vast chambered cairn and complex broch structure sitting side by side on the shore, nearly 100 m down the steep hill from the road! Most visitors will then drive round the 'back' of the island, to Wasbister and so pick up the other end of the B9064. The northern section of the road climbs steadily up a hill as it heads east, with a stunning viewpoint across the other Orkney Isles. It then crosses Faraclett Head before dropping back to the shore. There are many other archaeological sites along the way, but none so famous as the first, and soon we find ourselves back at the "beginning" at the top of the B9065.